The best electric truck charging stations pair enough Level 2 power with an installation style and connector that suit your truck and home. My best overall pick is the FLO Home X3 hardwired 50A, which stands out for its 12 kW rating, outdoor-ready design, and 25-foot cable. The Autel Home EV Charger is a strong alternative for buyers who want a hardwired J1772 unit, while the VEVOR Level 1+2 Portable Charger prioritizes outlet flexibility over charging speed. The main tradeoffs are faster charging versus home-circuit limits, permanent installation versus portability, and compatibility with your truck’s inlet. Read on for the full breakdown and guidance on choosing a station that fits your setup.
Get business pricing on garage and car supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The hardwired FLO Home X3 is the strongest all-around match among these listings: it combines a stated 12 kW, 50A output with outdoor-rated construction and a 25-foot cable.
- The plug-in and hardwired FLO Home X3 listings are not interchangeable. Choose the plug-in version for a suitable NEMA 14-50 outlet; the hardwired model calls for a permanent electrical connection.
- Several portable options share a 16A ceiling. The VEVOR units add 120V/240V flexibility, but their lower output makes them better suited to lighter daily charging needs than rapid replenishment.
- Truck inlet compatibility can change the buying decision. Most listed chargers use J1772 or Type 2 connections, so check the truck’s port and any required adapter before selecting a unit.
- Cable reach and circuit capacity matter as much as headline power. A 25-foot cable can simplify parking, but a charger’s maximum amperage is only useful if the home circuit and vehicle can support it.
| electric truck charging station | Cable length | Amperage | Connector | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger 40 A | 21 ft | — | J1772 | 12.8 lb |
| FLO Home X3 Level 2 Electric V | 25 ft | — | — | — |
| 40A Level 2 EV Charger Station | 20 ft | 40 A | — | — |
| Victron Energy EV Charging Sta | — | 32 A | — | 1.38 kg |
| VEVOR Level 1+2 Portable EV Ch | 28 ft | 16 A | J1772 | — |
| FLO Home X3 Level 2 Electric V | 25 ft | 50 A | J1772 | — |
| Electric Vehicle Charging Stat | — | 16 A | Type 2 | — |
| Autel Home EV Charger up to 50 | 25 ft | Up to 50 A | J1772 | 18.21 lb |
| VEVOR Level 1&2 EV Charger | 25 ft | 16 A | SAE J1772 | 6.8 lb |
| 40Amp Level 2 EV Charger with | 25 ft | 40 A | — | 4.5 kg |
More Details on Our Top Picks
ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger 40 Amp, Portable Electric Car Charging Station with 21FT J1772 Cable and NEMA 14-50 Plug, 9.6kW, ETL Certified
I’d put the ELEGRP 40A near the top for truck owners who want a portable, outdoor-ready Level 2 charger without stepping up to a 50A setup. Its 9.6kW output is a practical home-charging fit, while the 21-foot cable offers useful reach from a garage outlet or driveway connection. The IP67 weather resistance and stated operating range also make it better suited to exposed locations than the 40A Level 2 EV Charger Station with 20ft Cable, whose supplied details don’t list an IP rating. The tradeoff is capacity: the FLO Home X3 offers 50A and a longer cable, so it may suit compatible vehicles and installations better when faster charging is the priority. This ELEGRP requires a NEMA 14-50 outlet, weighs 12.8 pounds, and remains limited to 40A.
Pros:- 9.6kW and 40A output support Level 2 home charging.
- IP67 weather resistance suits exposed outdoor charging locations.
- Adjustable current levels and a delay timer offer charging flexibility.
- 21-foot cable and stated 2-year warranty add practical reach and support.
Cons:- Requires a NEMA 14-50 outlet and may need an adapter for other outlets.
- At 12.8 pounds, it is relatively heavy for frequent travel use.
- Its 40A ceiling is below the FLO Home X3’s listed 50A output.
Best for: J1772 electric-truck owners with a NEMA 14-50 outlet who want a portable charger for home or outdoor parking.
Not ideal for: Drivers who need more than 40A, a lighter unit for frequent carrying, or a charger that works without a NEMA 14-50 outlet.
- Charging power:9.6 kW
- Maximum amperage:40 A
- Cable length:21 ft
- Plug type:NEMA 14-50
- Connector:J1772
- Certification:ETL
- Weather resistance:IP67
- Weight:12.8 lb
Our verdict“Choose the ELEGRP if you want a weather-resistant 40A J1772 charger for a NEMA 14-50 outlet and do not need the FLO Home X3’s higher current.”
FLO Home X3 Level 2 Electric Vehicle Charging Station, 12 kW, 50A, 240V, NEMA 14-50 Plug, Outdoor Rated, 25 ft Cable
The FLO Home X3 is the strongest fit here for buyers whose truck and electrical setup can make use of its listed 50A, 12kW output. That extra capacity and its 25-foot cable give it an advantage over the 40A ELEGRP and the 20-foot-cable 40A station when charging speed and reach matter. A Type 4X thermoplastic enclosure, UL and Energy Star certifications, and Wi-Fi scheduling and monitoring make it a more feature-rich stationary choice than those simpler options. There are qualifications: the supplied product details say it is limited to Tesla and NACS-compatible vehicles, so J1772 truck owners should verify connector compatibility before choosing it. Its smart functions depend on Wi-Fi, and the NEMA 14-50 plug means the installation must match. I’d select it for a compatible truck, not as a universal J1772 pick.
Pros:- Listed 50A and 12kW output exceed the 40A options in this group.
- 25-foot cable provides more reach than the ELEGRP’s 21-foot cable.
- Type 4X enclosure is specified for outdoor use.
- Wi-Fi controls, scheduling, UL certification, and Energy Star certification are included.
Cons:- Product details limit compatibility to Tesla and NACS-compatible vehicles.
- Full smart functionality depends on a Wi-Fi connection.
- Requires a compatible NEMA 14-50 outlet and may not suit every electrical setup.
Best for: Owners of Tesla or NACS-compatible electric trucks with a suitable 240V NEMA 14-50 outlet who want higher listed charging output and Wi-Fi controls.
Not ideal for: J1772-only truck owners who need a ready-to-connect charger, or buyers without reliable Wi-Fi who want full access to smart features.
- Power:12 kW
- Maximum current:50 A
- Voltage:240 V
- Plug type:NEMA 14-50
- Cable length:25 ft
- Enclosure:Type 4X thermoplastic
- Certifications:UL, Energy Star
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Pick the FLO Home X3 for a compatible Tesla or NACS truck and a suitable outlet when its 50A output and smart controls matter more than broad J1772 compatibility.”
40A Level 2 EV Charger Station, 9.6KW NEMA 14-50 Wall Electric Vehicle Charging Station with 20ft Cable
For buyers who value straightforward setup and broad SAE J1772 compatibility, this 40A station keeps the choice uncomplicated: plug it into a 14-50R outlet, connect the vehicle, and check charging status on its LCD. Its 9.6kW output matches the ELEGRP’s listed power, but the cable is one foot shorter and the supplied information does not list weather resistance or adjustable current. The stated 10-year warranty is longer than the ELEGRP’s 2-year warranty, though the lack of included mounting hardware can add work for anyone planning a fixed installation. Compared with the VEVOR Level 1+2, it is the better fit for drivers prioritizing Level 2 charging speed over outlet flexibility. I’d treat it as a practical J1772 home station, while checking the mounting and outdoor requirements before buying.
Pros:- 9.6kW and 40A output provide Level 2 charging capability.
- Compatible with most SAE J1772 electric cars, according to the product details.
- LCD display shows charging status.
- Listed 10-year warranty is longer than the ELEGRP’s stated 2-year warranty.
Cons:- Requires a 14-50R outlet.
- Mounting hardware is not included.
- Supplied details do not specify weather resistance or adjustable current.
Best for: J1772 truck owners with a 14-50R outlet who want a plug-and-play Level 2 station with an LCD status display.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need documented weather protection, included mounting hardware, adjustable current, or compatibility beyond SAE J1772.
- Output power:Up to 9.6 kW
- Amperage:40 A
- Input voltage:240 V
- Connector type:SAE J1772
- Cable length:20 ft
- Outlet requirement:14-50R
- Certification:CSA
- Warranty:10 years
Our verdict“Choose this station if you have a 14-50R outlet and want a simple J1772 Level 2 setup with a listed long warranty, but can supply mounting hardware.”
Victron Energy EV Charging Station, 170-265 VAC 22 kW, Wi-Fi & Bluetooth Enabled
The Victron Energy EV Charging Station lists the highest power figure in this group at 22kW, making it the standout on paper for buyers planning a higher-capacity installation. That headline needs careful interpretation: its listed current is 32A and its input range is 170–265 VAC, while the product data does not specify connector type, plug, or vehicle compatibility details beyond electric vehicles. I would verify the electrical supply, connector, and truck’s onboard charging limits before treating 22kW as usable charging power. The ELEGRP and the 40A station provide clearer J1772 and NEMA 14-50 details, so they are easier to match to a typical home setup. Wi-Fi and Bluetooth add monitoring options, and its low listed weight may help with handling, but weather protection and warranty details are not supplied.
Pros:- Lists a 22kW power output, the highest stated figure among these five products.
- Wi-Fi and Bluetooth support monitoring and control connectivity.
- Listed weight of 1.38 kg is low compared with the portable 40A chargers.
- Input voltage range is specified as 170–265 VAC.
Cons:- Connector type and plug configuration are not specified in the supplied data.
- Weather resistance and warranty details are not provided.
- The 22kW claim should be checked against the installation and vehicle’s charging limits.
Best for: Electric-truck owners working with an installer on a compatible higher-capacity electrical setup who can confirm connector and vehicle limits before purchase.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a clearly specified plug-in J1772 charger for a standard NEMA 14-50 outlet, or anyone who needs documented outdoor protection and warranty terms.
- Power output:22 kW
- Input voltage:170–265 VAC
- Amperage:32 A
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Compatible devices:Electric vehicles
- Weight:1.38 kg
Our verdict“Consider the Victron only if an installer confirms that its power, connector, and electrical requirements match your truck and site.”
VEVOR Level 1+2 Portable EV Charger, 16 Amp 120V/240V, 28-Foot Cable, NEMA 6-20P Plug & NEMA 5-15 Adapter
The VEVOR Level 1+2 is the flexible choice for truck owners who may need to charge from different outlets, rather than the fast-charge pick. It supports 120V and 240V, includes a NEMA 5-15 adapter, and has a 28-foot cable—the longest listed here. Those traits make it more adaptable on trips than the NEMA 14-50-only ELEGRP or the 20-foot-cable 40A station. The compromise is substantial: its stated 16A and 3.8kW output is well below the 9.6kW options, so it is less suited to quickly replenishing a truck battery. Smart Life app control also depends on Wi-Fi, and it charges only one vehicle at a time. I’d choose it for backup and varied-outlet access, not as the main solution when fast home charging is the priority.
Pros:- Supports both 120V and 240V charging.
- 28-foot cable offers the longest reach among these five products.
- Includes NEMA 6-20P and NEMA 5-15 plug options.
- ETL certification and Smart Life app control are listed.
Cons:- 16A and 3.8kW output are substantially lower than the 9.6kW 40A chargers.
- Charges one vehicle at a time.
- App control requires Wi-Fi.
Best for: J1772 truck owners who travel, have access to both 120V and 240V outlets, and value a long cable and adaptable charging over higher power.
Not ideal for: Drivers who need faster Level 2 charging for a large truck battery, want to charge multiple vehicles, or expect app control without Wi-Fi.
- Charging levels:Level 1 and Level 2
- Input voltage:120 V / 240 V
- Amperage:16 A
- Wattage:3.8 kW
- Cable length:28 ft
- Plug types:NEMA 6-20P, NEMA 5-15 adapter
- Connector:J1772
- Safety certification:ETL
Our verdict“Choose the VEVOR for travel and outlet flexibility if slower charging is acceptable; skip it as your primary fast home charger.”
FLO Home X3 Level 2 Electric Vehicle Charging Station, 12 kW, 50 Amp, 240 V, Hardwired, UL/Energy Star Certified, 25 ft Cable, Outdoor Rated
The FLO Home X3 suits truck owners who want a fixed, weather-ready home charger and can support a higher-capacity electrical installation. Its 12 kW output and 25-foot cable give more charging headroom and parking flexibility than the portable VEVOR Level 1&2 EV Charger, which is limited to 16 amps. Wi-Fi scheduling can help owners manage charging around their household routine, while the outdoor-rated enclosure and UL and Energy Star certifications add reassurance for a permanent installation. The tradeoff is that this is not a plug-in option: full 50-amp operation may call for a 70-amp circuit breaker and qualified hardwiring. J1772-equipped trucks connect directly, but Tesla owners need an adapter. I’d choose it over a portable charger when outdoor durability and a fixed setup matter more than easy relocation.
Pros:- 12 kW, 50-amp output provides more charging capacity than the 16-amp portable options in this lineup.
- 25-foot cable offers flexibility when a truck’s charge port is far from the mounting point.
- Wi-Fi scheduling and monitoring support planned home charging.
- Outdoor-rated enclosure and UL and Energy Star certifications suit a permanent home installation.
Cons:- Hardwired installation can require electrical work and a 70-amp circuit breaker for full output.
- Tesla vehicles need a compatible adapter.
- Less convenient to move than a portable charger.
Best for: Electric-truck owners who park outdoors, have a suitable electrical panel, and want a hardwired charger with smart scheduling.
Not ideal for: Renters, frequent travelers, or buyers without capacity for a hardwired installation and its circuit requirements.
- Power:12 kW
- Amperage:50 A
- Input voltage:240 V
- Connector:J1772
- Cable length:25 ft
- Mounting:Wall-mounted, hardwired
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi
- Certifications:UL, Energy Star
- Warranty:5-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose the FLO Home X3 if you want a high-output, smart hardwired charger for an outdoor parking spot and are prepared for the installation requirements.”
Electric Vehicle Charging Station Type 2 Portable EV Charger 11kW 16A with Adapter
This portable Type 2 charger is the lineup’s niche option for truck owners whose vehicle and charging setup use a compatible Type 2 connection. Its strongest distinction is portable use with multiple safety protections, including temperature management, overvoltage and leakage protection, and a waterproof rating. That makes it a different proposition from the hardwired FLO Home X3 and Autel Home chargers, which deliver a more clearly specified 50-amp, 12 kW home setup. The stated 11 kW output sounds substantial, but the listed 16-amp rating and outlet compatibility requirements mean buyers should verify what their vehicle and supply can actually support before relying on that figure. With no wall mount or detailed plug specification provided, this is harder to plan as a permanent truck-side installation. I’d shortlist it only when Type 2 compatibility and portability are the priority.
Pros:- Portable format can suit charging in more than one location.
- Temperature management helps guard against overheating during charging.
- Includes stated protections against leakage and overvoltage.
- Waterproof rating supports outdoor use when the power supply and setup are compatible.
Cons:- The 16-amp rating makes its stated 11 kW output worth verifying against the vehicle and supply before purchase.
- Type 2 connector is not a direct match for J1772 vehicles without compatible equipment.
- No wall mount or detailed outlet information is listed, complicating installation planning.
Best for: Owners of electric trucks with a compatible Type 2 inlet and a suitable power supply who want a charger they can carry between locations.
Not ideal for: J1772-only vehicle owners or buyers seeking a clearly specified, permanently mounted 50-amp home charging station.
- Listed power:11 kW
- Amperage:16 A
- Connector:Type 2
- Format:Portable
- Safety features:Overheating, leakage, and overvoltage protection; intelligent temperature control
- Outdoor suitability:Waterproof rating stated
- Compatibility:Compatible electric vehicles; confirm vehicle and supply fit
Our verdict“Consider this charger if your truck uses Type 2 and you need portability, but verify the power and outlet specifications before choosing it for routine home charging.”
Autel Home EV Charger up to 50A, J1772 Hardwired Level 2 Charger, 25ft Cable
For truck owners facing exposed parking or severe cold, the Autel Home’s NEMA 4X weather protection and stated -40°C operating range set it apart from more basic portable chargers. It also delivers up to 50 amps and 12 kW, matching the FLO Home X3’s listed output, while adding app control over Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and Ethernet. That mix can make remote management easier when the truck is parked outside. Compared with the FLO, the Autel’s listed communications options are broader, but both are hardwired, high-output choices that call for a planned installation rather than plug-and-play use. Its 25-foot cable offers parking flexibility; its weight and hardwired design work against easy relocation. Buyers should also confirm installation and vehicle compatibility before committing to this fixed J1772 unit.
Pros:- Up to 50 A and 12 kW support high-capacity Level 2 home charging.
- NEMA 4X rating is suited to demanding outdoor conditions.
- App control supports Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and Ethernet connections.
- 25-foot cable gives more freedom to position the truck in a driveway or garage.
Cons:- Hardwiring requires installation expertise and makes the unit less suitable for travel.
- At 18.21 lb, it is heavier than the 4.5 kg portable 40 A charger in this lineup.
- The J1772 connector may require an adapter for vehicles with a different inlet.
Best for: Electric-truck owners who charge outdoors in cold or dusty conditions and want multiple app-control connection options.
Not ideal for: Drivers who need a portable charger, want to avoid hardwiring, or cannot confirm J1772 compatibility with their vehicle.
- Amperage:Up to 50 A
- Power:12,000 W
- Connector:J1772
- Cable length:25 ft
- Control:App control via Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, and Ethernet
- Temperature range:Down to -40°C
- Weight:18.21 lb
- Certification:CSA Certified
Our verdict“Pick the Autel Home if you want a weather-tough, app-connected hardwired charger for an outdoor truck parking spot.”
VEVOR Level 1&2 EV Charger, 16 Amp, Portable Electric Vehicle Charger with 25 ft Cable, 120V-240V, NEMA 6-20P Plug, SAE J1772 Compatibility
The VEVOR makes sense for truck owners who value outlet flexibility more than rapid charging. It supports Level 1 and Level 2 operation, with a NEMA 6-20P plug and a NEMA 5-15 adapter listed, so buyers with the matching outlets can use it across different charging setups. The 25-foot cable and 6.8-pound weight also make it easier to place or carry than the fixed Autel Home charger. The cost of that convenience is speed: its 16-amp limit is well below the 40-amp portable NEMA 14-50 charger in this roundup, and there are no app features for scheduling or monitoring. Outlet compatibility matters too; a truck owner should check the available circuit and adapter before expecting Level 2 performance. This is a practical backup or light-duty choice, not a fast home-charging replacement.
Pros:- Level 1 and Level 2 support gives flexibility across compatible outlets.
- 25-foot cable can reach charge ports across a driveway or garage.
- At 6.8 lb, it is practical to carry or store as a backup.
- LED indicators and stated safety protections provide basic charging feedback and safeguards.
Cons:- 16 A output is slower than the 40 A portable charger and 50 A hardwired models in this lineup.
- Requires a compatible outlet and the right adapter for the intended charging level.
- No app connectivity or smart scheduling is listed.
Best for: Truck owners with compatible 120 V and 240 V outlets who want one portable charger for home, shared parking, or backup use.
Not ideal for: Drivers who need fast daily replenishment for a large-battery electric truck or want smart scheduling and remote monitoring.
- Amperage:16 A
- Voltage range:120–240 V
- Charging levels:Level 1 and Level 2
- Connector:SAE J1772
- Plug:NEMA 6-20P; NEMA 5-15 adapter listed
- Cable length:25 ft
- Weight:6.8 lb
- Dimensions:9.72 x 3.82 x 2.32 in
Our verdict“Choose the VEVOR if portability and access to multiple compatible outlet types matter more than fast charging or app features.”
40Amp Level 2 EV Charger with 25ft NEMA 14-50 Cable, 9.6KW Portable Electric Vehicle Charging Station
This portable charger bridges the gap between low-amperage travel units and fixed 50-amp home stations. Its 40-amp, 9.6 kW output is a substantial step up from the VEVOR 16-amp charger, making it better suited to regular Level 2 charging when a compatible NEMA 14-50 outlet is available. The 25-foot cable and 4.5 kg weight support moving it between home and travel locations, while the LCD displays charging information without requiring a phone app. In exchange, it gives up the FLO Home X3’s 12 kW output and smart Wi-Fi scheduling, and it depends on a specific outlet that may not be installed at a destination. The listed NEMA 14-50 connection and J1772 adapter needs should be checked against the truck before purchase; the product data also does not specify a connector standard beyond that plug detail.
Pros:- 40 A and 9.6 kW provide more charging capacity than the 16 A portable VEVOR.
- Portable design and 25-foot cable suit home use and travel when a compatible outlet is available.
- LCD displays real-time charging information without app setup.
- Overcurrent and overheating protections are listed.
Cons:- Requires a NEMA 14-50 outlet, limiting use where that receptacle is unavailable.
- At 40 A, it falls below the 50 A FLO Home X3 and Autel Home options.
- Tesla vehicles may need an adapter, and the listed connector information should be checked against the truck.
Best for: Electric-truck owners who have access to a NEMA 14-50 outlet and want a portable charger with more output than 16-amp models.
Not ideal for: Drivers without a NEMA 14-50 outlet, those who want a hardwired outdoor station, or buyers needing the highest listed output and Wi-Fi controls.
- Amperage:40 A
- Power:9.6 kW
- Voltage:240 V
- Connection:NEMA 14-50
- Cable length:25 ft
- Weight:4.5 kg
- Display:LCD with real-time charging data
- Warranty:10 years
Our verdict“Choose this model if you want a portable 40-amp charger and already have reliable access to a NEMA 14-50 outlet.”

How We Picked
I compared these ten listings by the factors that most affect electric truck charging at home: stated output, connector and plug format, installation type, cable length, portability, and outdoor suitability. I gave more weight to clear specifications and practical fit than to headline wattage alone, since a truck, branch circuit, and home wiring can each limit charging speed. I also treated plug-in and hardwired versions as separate choices because they require different electrical setups.
The order favors stations with a strong blend of useful power, cable reach, and a clear fit for everyday home use. The hardwired FLO Home X3 leads for its listed 50A output and outdoor rating; the plug-in FLO version serves buyers with the right outlet, while the Autel is another hardwired option. Portable 16A models rank lower for truck owners who need to add substantial range overnight, but their flexibility can make more sense for occasional use or lower-power circuits. Several listings provide limited detail beyond basic specs, so I avoid treating unlisted features as confirmed benefits.
| electric truck charging station | Connector |
|---|---|
| ELEGRP Level 2 EV Charger 40 A | J1772 |
| FLO Home X3 Level 2 Electric V | — |
| 40A Level 2 EV Charger Station | — |
| Victron Energy EV Charging Sta | — |
| VEVOR Level 1+2 Portable EV Ch | J1772 |
| FLO Home X3 Level 2 Electric V | J1772 |
| Electric Vehicle Charging Stat | Type 2 |
| Autel Home EV Charger up to 50 | J1772 |
| VEVOR Level 1&2 EV Charger | SAE J1772 |
| 40Amp Level 2 EV Charger with | — |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Electric Truck Charging Stations
Choosing a truck charger starts with the electrical setup and the way you park, not with the biggest number on a product page. I’d check the vehicle manual, home circuit, and charging location together before deciding between a portable unit, a plug-in station, or hardwired equipment.
Match charger output to your home circuit
A charger’s maximum amperage does not mean your existing outlet or wiring can deliver that amount continuously. Have an electrician confirm the circuit rating, wire size, breaker, and outlet condition before installing a high-output unit. Continuous EV charging typically requires the circuit to be sized above the charger’s operating current, so the allowed charging rate may be lower than the breaker’s label suggests. A 50A charger can be a poor fit if your panel has limited capacity or the proposed circuit cannot support it. On the other hand, a lower-power charger may meet your needs if the truck sits parked for long stretches. Choose based on the energy you need to add between drives, not peak output alone.
Confirm the truck connector and adapter path
Check the charging inlet listed for your exact truck model and model year before buying a station. Many North American home chargers use J1772, while some vehicles use a different inlet and require a manufacturer-approved adapter for AC charging. Do not assume a plug adapter changes the charging standard or raises the vehicle’s charging limit. If more than one driver or vehicle will use the station, consider whether the charger’s connector works directly with both or whether adapters will add steps. Keep any adapter secure and follow the vehicle and adapter makers’ guidance. A connector mismatch can turn an otherwise suitable station into an inconvenient purchase.
Choose plug-in or hardwired based on the installation
A plug-in charger can be easier to remove or relocate, but it depends on having the correct receptacle and a circuit rated for the unit. A hardwired station avoids a plug connection at the wall and can suit a permanent outdoor or garage installation, though setup generally requires electrical work. Do not install a high-current charger into an existing outlet just because the plug fits; outlet quality and circuit capacity still need checking. Ask an electrician to quote the full installation, including panel work, conduit, and weather protection where needed. That gives a more realistic comparison than weighing the station alone. If you rent or expect to move, portability may matter more than the cleanest permanent setup.
Plan cable reach around real parking positions
Measure from the planned charger location to the truck’s charge port with the vehicle parked in its usual position. Account for the route the cable must take around walls, doors, and other vehicles rather than measuring a straight line. A longer cable can let you park in either direction or serve a second space, but it may also be heavier to handle and harder to store neatly. Avoid stretching a cable across a walkway or placing it where tires can crush it. If your truck’s port location differs from your current vehicle, plan for that before mounting the unit. A few minutes with a tape measure can prevent daily parking workarounds.
Decide whether portability is worth lower output
Portable chargers make sense for owners who want to take equipment between locations or use compatible outlets already available. Many portable models in this roundup are limited to 16A, a meaningful constraint if a large truck needs a substantial charge during a short overnight window. Some offer both 120V and 240V use, but the available supply and approved adapters determine what they can deliver. Treat portability as a flexibility feature, not as proof that the unit can charge quickly from every outlet. Check the permitted outlet type and operating current in the manual before connecting it. For a fixed home routine, a higher-output station may be more convenient if the wiring supports it.
Check outdoor rating, cable care, and service details
If the station will sit outside, verify that the exact model is rated for the exposure at your installation site and follow its mounting instructions. An outdoor rating does not make every connector, receptacle, or cable connection safe when left exposed to standing water or damage. Look for clear information about warranty coverage, support, replacement cables, and approved installation conditions before buying. Keep the connector protected when it is not in use and inspect the cable periodically for cuts, crushed sections, or heat damage. A longer warranty is useful only if its terms cover the way you plan to install and use the charger. When product details are sparse, ask the seller or manufacturer to confirm the points that affect safety and service.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will a 50A charger charge my electric truck at 50 amps?
Not automatically. The charger must be connected to an adequately rated circuit, and the truck’s onboard AC charger sets another limit on how much power it accepts. A station rated for 50A may operate below that level if the electrical installation or vehicle calls for a lower current. Have an electrician confirm the continuous-load capacity of the circuit and check your truck’s manual for its AC charging limit. The practical charging rate is the lowest limit in that chain, not simply the largest number on the station.
Should I choose a NEMA 14-50 charger or a hardwired station?
Choose a NEMA 14-50 model if you have, or can safely install, a suitable receptacle and value being able to unplug the station. A hardwired model suits a fixed installation and avoids relying on a receptacle connection, but installation usually calls for an electrician. Neither format is automatically faster or safer; circuit design, charger settings, and installation quality matter. Ask an electrician to compare the cost and capacity of both setups at your home. Also check whether the station’s listed maximum output is permitted with the intended connection.
Can I use a J1772 charger with a truck that has a different inlet?
Possibly, but compatibility depends on the truck, charging standard, and an approved adapter. Confirm the vehicle maker’s guidance for AC charging rather than relying on connector appearance or a generic adapter listing. An adapter does not increase the station’s output or the vehicle’s onboard charging limit. Check whether the adapter supports the current you intend to use and whether it is approved for regular home charging. If compatibility is unclear, ask the vehicle manufacturer before purchasing.
Is a 16A portable charger enough for an electric truck?
It can work if your truck is parked for long periods and your daily energy use is modest, but it will add charge more slowly than the higher-output stations in this roundup. The actual result depends on whether you use 120V or 240V power, the truck’s charging limit, and how much energy you need to replace. A portable unit can be useful as a flexible or backup option, but it may not recover a large daily commute overnight. Estimate your typical energy use and charging window before choosing one. If those needs vary, a higher-output home station may provide more room to adapt.
What should I verify before mounting a charger outside?
Confirm the exact station’s outdoor rating and the installation conditions permitted by its manufacturer. Check that the selected location protects the connector and cable from repeated impact, standing water, and vehicle traffic. The electrical circuit, receptacle or hardwired connection, and any conduit also need to suit the environment. Ask the installer whether local electrical rules require extra protection or a particular mounting method. Finally, make sure the cable can reach the truck without crossing a path where it could be crushed or create a trip hazard.
Conclusion
For most truck owners with a suitable electrical setup, I’d choose the hardwired FLO Home X3 as the best overall for its stated 50A output, 12 kW rating, outdoor-ready design, and 25-foot cable. The 40A portable NEMA 14-50 stations are the best value-minded direction when you already have a compatible outlet and want a removable unit, while the Autel Home EV Charger is my premium-style pick for buyers seeking a hardwired 50A J1772 option. Beginners who want a plug-in arrangement can start by checking the FLO Home X3 plug-in model, but should first confirm the outlet and circuit with an electrician. For buyers prioritizing portability or a lower-power supply, the VEVOR Level 1+2 models are the more flexible fit, with slower charging as the tradeoff. Match your final choice to the truck inlet, available circuit, and parking layout before ordering.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.













