AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on garage and car supplies

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Smart has begun offering its two-seat #2 electric city car in China, where the Premium trim is listed at 102,900 yuan and has a limited-time introductory price of 99,900 yuan. The company quotes a China-market CLTC range of up to 410 kilometres; the timing and pricing of less expensive trims have not been announced.

Smart has begun offering its two-seat #2 electric city car in China, with the Premium trim priced at 102,900 yuan and a limited-time introductory price of 99,900 yuan. The launch brings the model, designed as the successor to the ForTwo, to its first market after its world premiere in Paris in October; Smart quotes a China-market CLTC range of up to 410 kilometres.

The China offer currently named in the report is the Premium trim. Its stated list price is 102,900 yuan, equivalent in the source report to just under €14,000. The introductory offer reduces the price to 99,900 yuan, or approximately €13,370, though the report does not specify how long that promotion will last. The figures describe the China-market offer and should not be read as confirmed European prices.

Smart also plans a limited-run Couture Edition, capped at 999 vehicles across Europe and China combined. The report does not give a separate price or detailed specification for that edition. More affordable versions are not yet available, and Smart has not stated when they might be introduced.

Smart quotes a range of up to 410 kilometres under China’s CLTC test cycle. That figure is a manufacturer-provided market specification, not a range result under a different testing standard. Earlier Chinese regulatory filings disclosed dimensions of about 2.75 to 2.76 metres long, 1.67 metres wide and 1.56 metres high, with a 1.88-metre wheelbase. The reported specification also includes a 60 kW electric motor and a 35.8 kWh LFP battery.

At a glance
announcementWhen: China sales announced November 6, 2026;…
The developmentSmart has opened China-market sales of the #2 two-seat electric car, starting with the Premium trim.

China Launch Sets the Price

The opening price gives prospective buyers a concrete indication of how Smart is positioning its return to the two-seat urban-car segment. The introductory figure is below the announced list price, but its limited duration and the absence of lower-priced trims leave open how accessible the model will be after the promotion ends. The available information does not establish whether the price will change or how it compares with all competing Chinese electric cars.

The launch also matters beyond China because the car is built locally by Zhejiang Haoqing Automobile Manufacturing, a Geely subsidiary. According to the report, the plant is intended to supply China as well as Europe and other overseas markets. That makes the China debut part of the model’s broader production and sales rollout, rather than a launch limited to domestic buyers.

For readers considering the range figure, the distinction between test cycles matters: the stated 410-kilometre CLTC maximum is tied to China’s cycle. The source provides no directly comparable European range figure in the supplied material, so the number alone does not establish what range customers will receive under another market’s test procedure or in everyday driving.

Products Worth Considering

Chemical Guys 14-Piece Arsenal Builder Car Wash Kit with Foam Blaster

Chemical Guys 14-Piece Arsenal Builder Car Wash Kit with Foam Blaster

Autel MaxiCharger AC Home 50A Level 2 EV Charger, Hardwired, J1772, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 25 ft Cable

Autel MaxiCharger AC Home 50A Level 2 EV Charger, Hardwired, J1772, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, 25 ft Cable

Autel Home EV Charger up to 50A J1772 Hardwired Level 2 Charger with 25 ft Cable

Autel Home EV Charger up to 50A J1772 Hardwired Level 2 Charger with 25 ft Cable

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

From Paris Premiere to China Sales

The #2 was presented publicly at the Paris Motor Show in October, according to the source report, which describes it as an electric successor to the Smart ForTwo. Its compact dimensions and two-seat layout continue the basic city-car format associated with that earlier model. The supplied material does not detail how the new car’s equipment or driving technology compares with the ForTwo.

Some technical information emerged before the debut. In August, a mandatory filing with China’s Ministry of Industry and Information Technology listed dimensions that vary slightly by configuration: 2.75 or 2.76 metres in length. The filing information cited in the report also gives a 60 kW motor supplied by InfiMotion. A 35.8 kWh lithium iron phosphate battery capacity was disclosed later, while the China launch announcement adds the CLTC range figure.

Smart Europe CEO Wolfgang Ufer described the model in June as a return of the brand’s two-seater concept. In remarks quoted from the “eMobility Insights” podcast, he said: “A legend is returning – and it will be the best two-seater there has ever been.” That is Ufer’s assessment of the car, not an independently established comparison with other two-seaters.

““A legend is returning – and it will be the best two-seater there has ever been.””

— Wolfgang Ufer, Smart Europe CEO, speaking in June on the “eMobility Insights” podcast

Trim Prices and Range Details

The available report does not say when lower-priced trims will arrive, what they will cost or whether they will be offered in all markets. It also does not provide the end date for the 99,900-yuan introductory price. The Couture Edition’s individual price and its differences from the Premium trim are not specified.

The source gives a maximum 410-kilometre CLTC range for China but does not provide a corresponding range under the European test cycle, nor details of real-world range, charging times or charging capacity. The precise start of customer deliveries and the timing of launches in Europe and other overseas markets are also not stated in the supplied material.

More Market and Delivery Details

The next information likely to clarify the rollout is Smart’s announcement of delivery timing, additional trims and their prices. Buyers will also need the introductory offer’s end date and a fuller specification for the Couture Edition to compare the available versions. The supplied report does not give dates for those announcements.

For customers outside China, further details on European specifications and market availability will be needed, including a range figure using the applicable European test cycle. The production site in China is reported to serve Europe and other overseas markets, but the report does not confirm when those markets will begin taking orders or receiving cars.

Key Questions

How much does the Smart #2 cost in China?

The Premium trim has a stated list price of 102,900 yuan. A limited-time introductory offer lowers it to 99,900 yuan; the report does not state when that offer ends.

What range does Smart quote for the #2?

Smart quotes up to 410 kilometres under the CLTC test cycle for the China-market car. The supplied information does not give a European-cycle figure or a real-world range estimate.

When will cheaper versions be available?

The timing of more affordable trims is not yet clear. The China offer reported so far is for the Premium trim.

Where is the Smart #2 made?

The report says it is manufactured in China by Zhejiang Haoqing Automobile Manufacturing, a subsidiary of Geely. The facility is expected to supply China, Europe and other overseas markets.

How many Couture Edition cars will be produced?

The limited Couture Edition is restricted to 999 units across the European and Chinese markets combined, according to the report. It does not provide a market-by-market allocation.

Source: electrive.com

You May Also Like

Li-S Energy’s Lithium-sulfur Battery Powers Pegasus Drone Through A Near Two-hour Flight

A Li-S Energy lithium-sulfur pack powered the Pegasus drone on a nearly two-hour, 75-kilometer test flight in Queensland, the company says.

A Tesla Ran A Stop Sign And Killed A Man, Full Self-Driving/Autopilot Was On

A Tesla vehicle, operating with Full Self-Driving or Autopilot enabled, ran a stop sign and fatally struck a pedestrian. Investigation ongoing.

BYD’s New Electric Supercar Costs $190,000 In Europe. Will Customers Show Up?

BYD introduces its new electric supercar in Europe at a price of $190,000. Will consumer demand meet expectations? Details inside.

Nearly 1 In 3 Hyundais Sold In October Was A Hybrid As High Gas Prices Push Buyers To Pivot

Hyundai says hybrids made up a record 29% of its U.S. October sales as gas prices stayed high; Kia also reported growth in hybrid and EV sales.